NWCFA Junior Cup: Who’s through and who’s out? Find out here …

PICTURE by Wynne Evans


Bro Goronwy 5 (J. Thomas x2, R. Jones J. Edney, G. Hughes)
Hotspur Reserves 3 (P. Jones, C. Corrie, M.Jones)

Ryan Jones swoops in to score for Bro. PICTURE: Paul Scholes.

The holders are through to the second round despite a bit of a scare against the young but spirited Hotspur Reserves side.

Phil Jones put the visitors ahead early on in the tie but goals from Ryan Jones, Jac Thomas and Gethin Hughes made it 3-1 to Bro. A fightback from Hotspur’s second string saw it back to 3-3 soon after thanks to goals from Mitch Jones and Chris Corrie.

Late goals from Jordan Edney and Thomas’ second strike put Bro into the next round to keep their hopes of retaining the cup alive.


Betws Y Coed 2
Menai Tigers 7

Callum Davidson on the ball for Menai Tigers.

Last season’s Gwynedd League champions are also through after a convincing win at Betws.

Aled Ellis’ double was not enough for the hosts as Mitchell Jones (2), Kelvin Frazer, Owain Roberts, Ricky Owen, Tom Parry and Callum Davidson all found themselves on the score-sheet for Aaron Rowlands side who are on a good run of form of late.


Trearddur Bay Bulls 6
Machno United 2

The Bulls celebrate another emphatic win. PICTURE: Wynne Evans.

Last season’s Junior Cup runners-up The Bulls are also into the hat for the second round of the tournament as they eased to victory over Vale of Clwyd and Conwy Division One outfit Machno.

Goals from Justin Williams (2), Matty Roberts, Dave Webb, Gwion Owen and Dylan Williams cancelling out strikes from Dion and Rob Lloyd for Machno.


Llanystumdwy 4
Ogwen Tigers 3

This all-Gwynedd League tie turned out to be something of a cup thriller as Llan progressed to the next round.

A Kieron Bullock brace had put Mike Williams’ Tigers in a commanding position away from home – however it was 2-2 before half time thanks to a Dafydd Jones double.

In the second half, The Tigers regained the lead through the experienced Marc Wilson. However, they again failed to hang on to the lead – two goals in the last ten minutes from Kyle Williams and Darren Parry turned the tie on its head and sent Llanystumdwy into the second round.


Nefyn United 3
Cemaes Bay 1

Cemaes had been fancied to cause an upset here but the in-form Penwaig squad had other ideas as they dumped them out of the cup.

Goals from Dylan Sion Jones (2) and Tomos Jones saw the hosts beat their competitors at Cae’r Delyn. Midfielder Dafydd Jones hit a consolation goal for The Bay, who will now turn their attentions to the Anglesey League and its five domestic trophies.


Abergele 4
Bodorgan 4
(3-1 on penalties)

The underdogs went so agonisingly close to causing an upset here but nevertheless did themselves and the Anglesey League proud.

Abergele are second in the Vale of Clwyd and Conwy Premier table and are yet to lose this season. This game was expected to be something of a walkover but instead proved just how far Bodorgan have come as a team.

A hat-trick from Luke Allaway and a Rhys Heycock strike alongside goals from Connah Atkinson, Jack McDougall, Jack Lloyd-Williams and James Lloyd for the hosts saw the game go to penalties where Abergele came out on top 3-1.


Other results and scorers from round one:

Holyhead Town Reserves 3 (Kane Bentley, Chris Owens, Luke Miles)
Bethesda Athletic 5 (Shaun Morris x2, Andy Clarke, Jack Roscoe-Roberts, Own Goal)

Penrhyn Bay Dragons 2 (Paul Jones, Jack Kearney)
Y Fali 5 (Tudur Williams x2, Jerome Sillence, Callum Wood, Dion Evans)

Pentraeth Reserves 0
Llandudno Athletic 3 (Nathan Williams x2, Lee Stokes)

Cefni 2 (Kyle Williams, Mark Thomas)
Llansannan 4 (Geraint Jones x2, Rhys Hughes, Joe Maguire)

Rhuddlan Town 6 (Jay Whitehouse x2, Jordan Frazer, Matthew Beach, Jordan Bellham, Matty Rees)
Glantraeth 2 (Morgan Rowlands and Brad Bland)

Bro Cernyw 4 (Carwyn McFadden x2, Russell Purssell, Osian Roberts)
Waunfawr 2 (Rhys Davies, Shaun Roberts)

Y Glannau 2 (Tom Jones, Ryan Jones)
Llandudno Amateurs Reserves 3 (Stan Farrell, Lee Fallas, Morgan Davies)


Bro Goronwy
Bethesda Athletic
Bro Cernyw
Menai Tigers
Nefyn United
Y Fali
Llandudno Athletic
Rhuddlan Town
Trearddur Bay Bulls
Llandudno Amateurs Reserves
Llanelwy or Bangor 1876
Arriva Bangor (bye)
Bontnewydd (bye)
Caergybi (bye)
Cerrigydrudion (bye)
Denbigh Development (bye)
Henllan (bye)
Llandegfan (bye)
Llanfairpwll (bye)
Llanfairfechan Town (bye)
Llangoed (bye)
Llanerchymedd (bye)
Llysfaen (bye)
Meliden (bye)
Mountain Rangers (bye)
NFA (bye)
Rhos United (bye)
Rhyl All Stars (bye)
Talysarn Celts (bye)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s