Local Player Interview: Lewis Connor.

cemaes_bay

Age: 23 years old.

Height: 6ft 7in.

Supports: Everton.

Day job: Scaffolding labourer.

Position: Centre Back.

Current club: Cemaes Bay FC.

Former club: Llangefni FC.

AFEFootballNews’ first local player interview included Cemaes Bay’s in form midfielder Mathew Shakepseare and the latest edition in the series features his teammate, Lewis Connor.

A regular starter in the heart of his club’s defence, the tall centre back is committed in the tackle and is clearly proud to represent the club he grew up at. AFEFootballNews’ asked him a few questions and here’s what he had to say …

13112950_1639619599663628_4098014671450505072_o
Connor in action against Gaerwen FC.

AFE: What made you want to start playing football?

LC: I started playing football at age 4 going on 5 and fell in love with the game and I’ve played football ever since then. The fact that my elder brother already playing was possibly an influence on why i started playing.

AFE: What would you say is your strongest quality as a player?

LC: I’d say that my best quality is my tackling, I love a solid 50/50 tackle. If the ball is  there to be won, I’m winning it all day long.

AFE: Who was your idol when growing up and why?

LC: My idol growing up, probably down to the fact that I’m a huge Everton fan, was Duncan Ferguson. He was a player who always wore his heart on his sleeve, gave his all and just like me he couldn’t stay away from an argument on the pitch!

lewis-arguing
Just like big Dunc?

AFE: What would you say has been your biggest achievement/best moment in football?

LC: My biggest achievement so far has to be winning  both the Dargie and Elias cup’s with Cemaes. They were both very special nights to say the least.

AFE: What about the worst moment on the pitch for you?

LC: The worst moment has to most probably be when I’ve been sent off!

AFE: Who’s the best player you’ve played alongside? and against?

LC: The best player I’ve played with without a doubt is Steven Whittaker, he’s an absolute goal machine. I’d say the best players I’ve played against have to be Jay Gibbs, Ryan Connolly and Dion Donohue, those three were all immense at junior level and all of them signed for professional clubs. It’s hard to choose just one out of the three.

whittaker
Goal machine – Whittaker.

AFE: Best manager you’ve played for?

LC: Best manager has to be Darren “Mourinho” Thomas.

AFE: Last question … What are your targets for this season?

LC: On a personal note, I’d like to score a few headers and as for team goals I think our aim has to be to finish above our rivals Amlwch Town, as well as securing a decent mid table finish.

Cheers for the chat Lewis and all the best to you and your club for the rest of the season!

lewis-on-the-attack

 

Leave a Reply

