Leicester City: The Weird and Wonderful Records The Foxes Have Broken!


They’ve won the league with the least amount of average possession of any Premier League Champions.
With an average possession of 46% throughout the season, the Foxes have the worst possession stats of any Premier League Champions ever (sorry for the negativity!). But the fact of the matter is, whether they were 1-0 up or 1-0 down, they always found a way to grind out results and that’s why they’ve won the league!

Andy the King
Welsh Central Midfielder Andy King has become the first ever player to win the League One, Championship and Premier League titles with the same team. Loyal guy.

King of the Prem!

They overcame 5000-1 odds …
This subtitles pretty self explanatory really!

De Laet and his two medals!
Having spent half the season at Leicester and half the season at Middlesbrough’s (who have been promoted to the Premier League) Right Back Ritchie De Laet has earned himself two medals this season!

Kanté stop winning.
A year ago, if somebody had asked you who N’golo Kanté was you’d have probably said something along the lines of “Let me Google that!” But now the French Midfielder, bought from Caen for £6 million last summer, has made the most interceptions of any player in the Premier League, as well as winning 115 of his tackles, justifying his nomination for the PFA player of the year award. He’s also made his international debut for France and looks likely to be included for their Euro 2016 squad this summer.

Kanté touch this ...

The wonderful tale of Schmeichel’s
Kasper Schmeichel officially won the league on the 2nd of May 2016 when Tottenham threw away their 2-0 lead over Chelsea at Stamford Bridge. Eerily, his father Peter won the league on the same day 23 years ago in 1993 with Manchester United. Genetics.

Kasper (Left) and Peter (Right)

Mahrez: The first African player of the year
“The first but not the best” the man himself claimed and whilst that may be true, it has to be said that Algerian Winger Mahrez has been in phenomenal form all season long and thoroughly deserved to win the prestigious ‘PFA Player of the Year’ award. 17 goals and 10 assists in 36 League games this season have seen him and his Leicester City team mates surprise each and everyone of us by storming their way to the Premier League title.

Not bad - Mahrez and his award.

And finally, Mark Schwarzer: The first player to win back to back Prem titles without playing a game …
Having been at Chelsea and winning the title in the 2014/15 season, legendary Aussie Goalkeeper Schwarzer, decided to join the Foxes for the 2015/16 season. Little did he know that 12 months later he’d be winning a second consecutive title, having not even played a game for either team (scrounger!). There is much doubt casted over whether or not he’ll actually get himself a medal this season, after all he only got one at Chelsea cos Mourinho bought him one … No seriously, look it up!

Legend - Mark Schwarzer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s